St. Francis de Sales Matric. HSc.School, Alangayam is the first SFS School to be started in Tamil Nadu. It had its origin on 20 June 1988.Gnanodaya Vidyalaya was its original name. Alangayam is a multicultural town situated at the foot hills of Jawathi and Elgris. It is a lovely town surrounded by hills and mountain slopes and green fertile landscapes with pleasant climate.

Alangayam a substation to Vaniyambadi Parish was with handful of mobile teachers’ familiesin 1985. The Church of Our Lady of Vailankanni and the priest’s residence adjacent to the Church were built by Rev. Fr. George Puraidam. The church was blessed by Most Rev. Dr. Michael Augustine the bishop of Vellore and was inaugurated by Rev. Fr. Midathada Mariadas on 21 May 1988.The presbytery was inaugurated on 21 May 1989.

The school was initially functioning at the church building. In 1989, the first block of Gnanodya Vidhyalaya was built in Gollar Street at the site where the school is located at present. The School at Alangayam was ventured in order to extend our ministry of evangelization from Vaniyambadi to Alangayam. Fr. George Puraidom along with Rev. Fr. Joseph Francis Britto pioneered this adventure of founding and establishing S.F.S School, Alangayam. Fr. George Puraidam was the first Correspondentand Mrs. Agnes Thomas was the first teacher. At that time the school had only 20 students. Now, after two and a half decades the school has the strength of 1751 students and 49 teaching staff and 8 non-teaching staff. The school has grown up slowly and steadily down through the years. A priests´ residence in the school campus was inaugurated by Rev. Fr. Mani Panthalani on 05 July 2002.

S.F.S School Alangayam has come through a quarter of a century. People of Alangayam and of the surrounding villages are predominantly farmers. People from every walk of life would like to settle down here. Doctors and lawyers from this area had their crawling experience of learning as toddlers here in S.F.S Alangayam, now they are in various parts of the world working as engineers and doctors.


  1. Fr.Joseph Francis Britto(1990 – 1991)
  2. Fr. Conrad Sebastian (1991 -1992)
  3. Fr. A. Arulanandam (1992 – 1993)
  4. Fr. A. Dharmaraj (1993 – 1996)
  5. Fr. K. Ignaci Muthu (1996 – 2001)
  6. Fr. A. Arockiasamy (2001 – 2004)
  7. Fr. R. Mathias (2004 – 2005)
  8. Fr. S. Alexander (2005 – 2007)
  9. Fr. A. Arul Francis (2007 – 2011)
  10. Fr. A. Michael (2011 –)

Priests in other responsibilities:

Fr. S. Edward Xavier, Fr. M. Victor, Fr. X. Vincent, Fr. S. Wilson Fernando, Fr. AJR. Benedict, Fr. S. Eldin Bernard, Fr. P. Aloysius, Fr. L. Arul Sundaram.